AUAS - NOGI Home Page  

NOGI Recipients
AUAS Officers & Directors
The Zale Parry Scholarship

Current NOGI winners

NOGI Awards Gala
Become a Sponsor
Contact Information

:: Paul J. Tzimoulis - Arts - 1969

Paul J. Tzimoulis   Paul J. Tzimoulis was one of the true pioneers in sport diving. He is regarded by many as the founding father of recreational diving in the U.S. as well as a significant influence in international dive travel. His management skills were evident in the 34 years that he was the guiding force in dramatically building the first diving magazine, Skin Diver Magazine. In 1966, at the young age of 29 years old, he was named Editor/Publisher. Since then, he served in various capacities, Editor, Editor-in-Chief, Publisher and Group Vice President.

During his tenure at Skin Diver, Tzimoulis provided the dynamic leadership of development of such industry milestones as the certification card dive travel, dive computers and buoyancy compensators.

Tzimoulis devoted 42 years to the development of dive travel and he helped to create
many of today's most popular dive destinations, including: the Bahamas, Bonaire, Roatan, Cayman Islands, Cozumel, Truk Lagoon, Palau, Yap and many others.

For many years he guided Skin Diver during its largest growth period, with many publishing innovations and contributions to diving. After a distinguished career with Skin Diver, Tzimoulis retired as Vice President, Executive Publisher and Group Publisher for the Photography/Marine Division of Petersen Magazine Network.

Tzimoulis returned from retirement to become Executive Consultant of Sport Diver Magazine and Online Publisher of the Sport Diver Website.

Tzimoulis was a prolific writer on many other ocean subjects, including marine life, ocean technology, diving equipment, underwater operations and many other aspects of the oceans and lakes of the world.

Paul Tzimoulis has received numerous awards from the diving industry including the Diver Of The Year Award presented by the Boston Sea Rovers (1966); Honored Photographer from the International Underwater Film Festival (1968); the NOGI Award For Sports & Education from the Underwater Society of America (now presented by The Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences) (1969); Hall of Fame Undersea Photography Award, Hawaii (1971); Oceanus Award - Our Future In Depths Arts Award (1977); Underwater Photographic Society Outstanding Achievement Award (1978); Sir Turtle Award from the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism (1983); Reaching Out Award and induction into the DEMA Hall of Fame (1997); PADI Outstanding Achievement Award (1998); induction into the Cayman Islands International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (2001); Interspace Pacifica; Boston Underwater Club; the Sir Turtle Award of the Cayman Islands; and many others. In 2002, Tzimoulis was elected Chairman of Board of The Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences and he served admirably in that position until his death the following year.

< Return to the previous page >

Home | The NOGI | Officers & Directors | Zale Parry Scholarship | Memorabilia | Current NOGI | Links of Interest
NOGI Awards Gala | Sponsorship Info | Contact Us

Copyright 2008, Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences